It consists of eight to twelve Commissioners and up to five ad hoc Commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank and powers of a Deputy Head of a department and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Chief Electoral Office.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1960, c. 39, and amendments thereto), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in December 1949 (RSC 1952, c. 67) and came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950 under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Most departmental work is carried on through four branches. The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens. The Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act and is the custodian of all records under that Act and all Naturalization Acts previously in force. The Immigration Branch administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and movement of immigrants, the exclusion or deportation of undesirables and the settlement or establishment of immigrants in Canada. The activities of the Indian Affairs Branch include management of all Indian affairs. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 89 local agencies in the field.

Civil Service Commission.—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, wherever possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters at Ottawa, termed the "inside service". The Civil Service Act of 1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the outside service and temporary appointments. It also gave the Commission other responsibilities in the field of personnel administration including responsibility for promotion, for classification of positions and for recommending rates of pay.

The Civil Service Act of 1961, which came into force on Apr. 1, 1962, has three main features. First, it preserves the independence of the Civil Service Commission and carries forward and strengthens all the fundamental principles of the merit system. Secondly, it clarifies the role of the Civil Service Commission in those other areas of personnel administration with which it is concerned but which do not bear directly upon the merit system. Thirdly, it confers on staff associations the right to be consulted on matters that have to do with remuneration and conditions of employment.

The Civil Service Commission is responsible only to Parliament and not to the executive government and reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. It consists of three members, one of whom is chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of ten years and has the rank and standing of a Deputy Minister. The Commission has a staff of more than 700 persons located in its headquarters at Ottawa and in its field offices at St. John's, Nfld., Halifax, N.S., Moncton and Saint John, N.B., Quebec and Montreal, Que., Toronto and London, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina and Saskatoon, Sask., Edmonton and Calgary, Alta., and Vancouver and Victoria, B.C.

Department of Defence Production.—This Department was established on Apr. 1, 1951 under the provisions of the Defence Production Act (RSC 1952, c. 62, as amended). Under this Act the Minister of Defence Production (in practice the Minister of Industry) is given, with certain exceptions, authority to buy defence supplies and construct defence projects required by the Department of National Defence. The Minister may, if authorized by the Governor General in Council, undertake for an associated government anything he may undertake for the Canadian Government. In addition, all powers, duties and functions that theretofore were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce under any contract, agreement, lease or other writing entered into pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1935, or the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, are vested in the Minister of Defence Production.

Broadly, the Department's functions are to procure military goods, to construct defence installations and to organize industry for defence as required on behalf of the Department of National Defence, other government departments, and associated governments; to promote the expansion of defence production facilities and the development of defence-supporting industries, particularly of strategic resources important for the defence of Canada and its allies; and to ensure adequate supplies of essential materials and services for defence requirements. Under the provisions of the Department of Industry Act the Minister of Industry now exercises all the duties, powers, etc., of the Minister of Defence Production.

The main operating units of the Department correspond to the ten line branches of the Department of Industry—Aircraft, Chemicals, Clothing and Textiles, Electrical and Electronics, Food Products, Machinery, Materials, Mechanical Transport, Shipbuilding and Wood Products. Major